Alaska Association of School Librarians

Advancing high standards for the school library profession in Alaska

Alaska Association of School Librarians - Advancing high standards for the school library profession in Alaska

School Librarian of the Year

School Librarian of the Year Award and School Librarian Merit Award Criteria

The Alaska Association of School Librarians gives the annual School Librarian of the Year (SLOY) award to an Alaska school librarian who:

  • Operates a library program that strives toward the goals set forth in
  • Empowering Learners: Guidelines for School Library Programs and Standards for the 21st-Century Learner.
  • Promotes the development of independent lifetime readers and learners.
  • Is an integral part of the educational team.
  • Exemplifies professional involvement by sharing expertise with colleagues both locally and around the state.
  • Is a certified librarian currently working in a library position.
  • Demonstrates professionalism by being a member of AkASL and other professional organizations.

Each school year, administrators, educators, and librarians are encouraged to nominate a school librarian who has been a help and inspiration to them.

The SLOY will receive a special award certificate, a piece of framed art, and a monetary award traditionally donated by Follett Library Company or Baker and Taylor.

Each librarian nominated will receive a School Librarian Merit Award Certificate
from the Association.

Directions: Complete and submit the online nomination form and send supporting documentation such as letters, photos, etc. separately via email by January 28, 2016 (11:59 PM).

Email questions or supporting documentation to:

Past Recipients of AkASL School Librarian of the Year Award:

1985 Roz Goodman Kodiak
1986 Laila Tedford Juneau
1987 Sue Jensen-Paulsen Petersburg
1988 Judy Arteaga Ketchikan
1989 Della Matthis Anchorage
1990 Mollie Bynum Anchorage
1991 Phyllis Cooper Homer
1992 Kelley Smith Soldotna
1993 Barbara Jones Wasilla
1994 Ellen McKelvey Anchorage
1995 Carol Dallman Kenai
1996 Lynn Hallquist Anchorage
1997 Lois Rhodes Sitka
1998 Tiki Levinson Naknek
1999 Jan Fortune Fairbanks
2000 Linda Masterson Anchorage
2001 Sue Hagedorn Anchorage
2001 Linda Thibodeau Juneau
2002 Barbara Bryson Valdez
2002 Ann McCann Fairbanks
2003 Lois Petersen Unalakleet
2004 Faith Johnson Anchorage
2005 shared by Robin Turk Palmer and Katie Sanders Fairbanks
2006 Suzanne Richards Bethel
2007 Lynn Ballam North Pole
2008 Veronica Cavanaugh Wasilla
2009 Kari Sagel Sitka
2010 Joan McMains Anchorage
2011 Alta Collins Anchorage
2012 Staci Cox Anchorage
2013 Dona Helmer, Anchorage
2014 Marit Vick, North Pole
2015 Suzanne Metcalfe, Anchorage

  • Denise Roselle says:

    Hello – can you please tell me the exact deadline for SLOTY? Is it midnight on the 15th? So I email all of our support docs to the email? Which email? Thanks for the info – FYI – we had 6 days of notice for this…

    January 12, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Your email address will not be published.